Predictive Maintenance

Partner: Magna Steyr Fahrzeugtechnik AG & Co KG, Location: Graz

New Request Website (Contact)

HIGHLIGHTS

  • evon XAMControl parallel to existing systems
  • Use of existing controllers via a range of protocols
  • Installation of new controllers and sensors
  • Multivariate anomaly recognition
  • Main component analysis (PCA)

Predictive ...

Maintenance intervals are normally prescribed by the manufacturer. For systems that are crucial for the operation of larger plant systems, manufacturers tend to set the maintenance intervals shorter than necessary to be on the safe side. This is also the case for the chilling systems employed at Magna Steyr in Graz.

Smart Factory @ Magna Steyr

“Smart Factory” is Magna Steyr’s lead project. The goal is to test the applicability and potential of new technologies and methods to daily operations. As a core competence of Industry 4.0, predictive maintenance is an approach for predictive maintenance with the aim of keeping downtime and maintenance costs low. Hence it was self-evident to discover within Smart Factory @ Magna Steyr just how practical predictive maintenance is today.

Anomaly Recognition & Data Analytics

A key factor in discovering whether a maintenance period is too short or to long is the locating of patterns within measurement data. To do this, the chillers were equipped with new sensors and a new controller based on evon’s XAMControl. This created a second system that was able to independently gather data from the existing system. These measurement data are the basis for anomaly recognition and the generation of models for the predictive maintenance.

Data, Mathematics & Training

During the data gathering process, the first step is to understand the data. Based on this data, a model is developed and continuously evaluated and improved. This continues until a useful and robust mathematical framework is available that renders maintenance better or lower cost. In this case, the work proceeded according to the model of the main component analysis. The result is s decision tree that classifies anomalies and depending on the event, delivers an alarm, a warning or the approach of maintenance work.

Predictive & in Real-Time

The combination of measurements, process knowledge and mathematics thus resulted in a predictive maintenance system with high value. In summary, it became evident that only the combination of plant understanding and mathematical models can lead to predictive maintenance.

Contact

Hirschmugl_Rene
  • Rene Hirschmugl
    Area Director - Process Control Engineering
  • 0043 3178 21800-146

More about the evon Projects in Process Control Engineering?

Fill in the form below our call Rene Hirschmugl!

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Predictive Maintenance

Auftraggeber: Magna Steyr Fahrzeugtechnik AG & Co KG, Standort: Graz

success_stories_magna_predictive_de

HIGHLIGHTS

  • evon XAMControl parallel zu Bestandssystem
  • Nutzung bestehender Steuerungen über diverse Protokolle
  • Installation neuer Steuerung und Sensorik
  • Multivariate Anomalieerkennung
  • Hauptkomponentenanalyse (PCA)

Vorausschauen ...

Wartungsintervalle werden in der Regel vom Hersteller einer Anlage vorgeschrieben. Und bei Anlagen, die für den Betrieb größerer Anlagen von Relevanz sind, neigen die Hersteller dazu, Wartungsintervalle im Zweifelsfall kürzer anzusetzen als notwendig. So auch bei den bei Magna Steyr in Graz eingesetzten Kältemaschinen.

Smart Factory @ Magna Steyr

Smart Factory ist ein Leitprojekt von Magna Steyr. Ziel ist es, neue Technologien und Methoden auf ihre Alltagstauglichkeit bzw. Potenziale hin zu testen. Predictive Maintenance, als eine der Kernkomponenten von Industrie 4.0, ist ein Ansatz für vorausschauende Wartung mit dem Ziel Ausfallszeiten und Wartungskosten niedrig zu halten. So war es naheliegend, im Zuge von Smart Factory @ Magna Steyr herauszufinden, wie alltagstauglich Predictive Maintenance heute bereits ist.

Anomalieerkennung & Data Analytics

Entscheidender Punkt, um herauszufinden ob ein Wartungsintervall zu kurz oder zu lang ist, ist das Finden von Mustern aus Messdaten. Dazu wurde die Kältemaschine mit neuen Sensoren und einer neuen Steuerung auf Basis von evon XAMControl erweitert. Damit entsteht ein zweites System, das unabhängig vom Bestandssystem Daten erfasst. Diese Messdaten sind die Basis für die Anomalieerkennung und die Modellerstellung für die vorausschauende Wartung.

Daten, Mathematik & Training

Im Zuge der Erfassung von Daten, gilt es im ersten Schritt, die Daten zu verstehen. Auf dieser Basis wird ein Modell entwickelt, laufend evaluiert und verbessert. So lange, bis ein einsatzfähiger und robuster mathematischer Rahmen entsteht, der die Wartung besser bzw. kostengünstiger macht. In diesem Fall wurde nach dem Modell der Hauptkomponentenanalyse vorgegangen. Als Ergebnis entstand ein Entscheidungsbaum, der Anomalien klassifiziert und, je nach Ereignis, einen Alarm, eine Warnung oder die Anbahnung einer Wartung als Ergebnis liefert.

Vorausschauend & in Echtzeit

Aus der Kombination von Messwerten, Prozessverständnis und Mathematik entstand so ein vorausschauendes Wartungssystem mit hohem Nutzen. Zusammenfassend hat sich gezeigt, dass nur die Kombination aus dem Verständnis der Anlagen und mathematischer Modelle im Rahmen von Predictive Maintenance ist.

Mehr zu den evon Produktionsleittechnik-Projekten?

Gleich Formular ausfüllen oder Rene Hirschmugl anrufen!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.